Mulberry bonsai beginner

squarel

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello! I am a beginner and studying a great bonsai book, but I could also use some quick expert insight. There's a list of questions at the end. Thank you for reading!

IMG_20240718_155410413.jpg
This is my mulberry one year and one month old, overtaking it's mesh pest protection. It is four trunks; two white two black, supported by a stake. At the bottom right is the portable home I'd intended for it.

Near me in Pennsylvania USA there is a mulberry tree cluster with black and white mulberries, and I decided to bonsai it from seed with no experience. It was seeded from white and black berries at peak yield in mid June 2023. I had to leave it with a friend for a while, who gave it rich fiberous unknown commercial soil in a bigger pot than I intended. She kept it indoors over winter and it grew ~35 cm in the first year. I moved it outside gradually from shade to full sun and it quickly doubled in height.

- Is it still possible for me to train it to be small without killing it? If not, I will plant it to grow wild.

- If I plant it to grow wild, how can I ensure it will survive winter?

- What time of year is best to trim its branches and roots to make it tiny?

- what are guidelines for letting a bonsai or potted plant experience all of the seasons and weather conditions and indoors and outdoors? I imagine this can help it harden and become adaptive over a long and varied life.

- In the pot are also some special small strawberries and millet seedlings. What problems may these cause?

Again thank you!

Most bonsai are cut down from larger trees- you can grow them up but it takes longer. With deciduoud trees it is common to let them grow freely and then chop them back severely to regrow from the stump. So don't worry about it getting too big! Many people even plant their trees in the ground to bulk up faster.