Large Maple Air Layer- A whole new world

LuZiKui

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Recently moved up to the New England area and got rid of most of my plants so it's time to start some new projects. Previously, I found that I had some money and time, but no space. Since we just purchased a house, I find myself with tons of space, a little less time, but no money. So, it's time for some free projects!

We have a nice looking Japanese maple tree in our back yard. The previous owners allowed it to get a little leggy so I'm planning on cutting it back next year to make it more compact. I was looking at the tree and the three main trunks are all parallel so I'll likely cut one of them off. I've seen some people doing large maple air layers so I figured might be a good way to get some decent (albeit a little boring) starter material, and more importantly it will work within my budget :D

As I'm brand new to maples just curious if anyone has any feedback or advice. The leaves seem relatively small so I'm assuming it'll make an OK bonsai? There are no shoots on this portion of the tree, will it backbud at some point? I've started reading through some of the other threads on air layers so I'll probably start them next spring and hope they are good for removal by fall.

The tree:
IMG_8907.jpg

Close up of foliage:
image_67515137.JPG

The branch I'm planning on removing, 1st air layer around here:

image_67233537.JPG

This junction is about 2 feet higher on the same branch, maybe a second air layer here?

image_67227905.JPG

Recently moved up to the New England area and got rid of most of my plants so it's time to start some new projects. Previously, I found that I had some money and time, but no space. Since we just purchased a house, I find myself with tons of space, a little less time, but no money. So, it's time for some free projects!