Noob here. Where to start?

BonsaiDrew

Seedling
Reaction score
So I went out and got my first bonsai after moving into new spot a couple months ago. I honestly dont know anything about caring for bonsai, except the little I've read recently. It's lost quiet a bit of leaves since, so I was a bit concerned, but read that this can be normal this season. Can someone help me identify my tree? Maybe lead me to some good information when starting the very basics from scratch? Any help is appreciated!

Attachments

• IMG_0991.jpg
    IMG_0991.jpg
    135.3 KB · Views: 44
  • IMG_0992.JPG
    IMG_0992.JPG
    159.4 KB · Views: 44
Im pretty sure its a Fukien tree, those things will drop leaves if you you move it to a diff zip code lol.

Gonna have to have a class in manners here, WELCOME hope you enjoy everything the site has to offer. Great information and people.

Six feet can be pretty far. Does the window even get much sunlight? South facing? I only ask because its alot easier to fix now then it is in six months if its dieing.

Did you get it at Lowes by any chance, the pot and rocks look familiar. And I am not saying this to be snotty, in the least. I happened to find one there last spring with a decent trunk, without the S curve. I repotted it into bonsai soil and a better pot in the summer. It threw it's typical fit, when brought in for the winter, but has since back budded like crazy and has an abundance of flower buds.

Six feet can be pretty far. Does the window even get much sunlight? South facing? I only ask because its alot easier to fix now then it is in six months if its dieing.

Probably not as much as it could. the window is west facing. And I very much welcome the questions lol