Help please! Japanese Larch in trouble

ehorne

Seed
Reaction score
Hi all, hope you will be able to give me some advice. I have what I believe is a Japanese Larch - my daughter gave it to me for my 40th birthday last winter (so it was delivered with bare branches). It's been on the bathroom windowsill since then but I recently moved it and have realised that it's not getting as much sun as previously. It did grow some needles this year, though not many. I've just been away for a week and come back to it looking very sad - the needles are brown and dropping and honestly a lot of the branches seem to be dead. There was some mould on the surface of the compost but it was damp rather than soaked. Have I killed it? If you can help me save it I will be very grateful! I'm not a novice gardener but this is my first bonsai.

Attachments

• PXL_20240831_152121134.jpg
    PXL_20240831_152121134.jpg
    391.5 KB · Views: 49
  • PXL_20240831_152134513.jpg
    PXL_20240831_152134513.jpg
    268.6 KB · Views: 54
  • PXL_20240831_152141361.jpg
    PXL_20240831_152141361.jpg
    157.3 KB · Views: 45
  • PXL_20240831_152146718.jpg
    PXL_20240831_152146718.jpg
    216.3 KB · Views: 56
Hey hello and welcome! Not a Larch expert but just a few questions to get started. Hmmm...Was this already wired since you've had it, if not do you know when it was wired? What zone do you live in? What else can you tell us about your cate routine?

Was anyone watering it for the last week? Also these are outdoor trees, not bathroom trees. Once they drop their needles like this they are usually toast, but keep watering it just on case.

Hello. Looks bad...

Where are you located?

A few comments. If you received this LAST winter, and until this very day it was in your bathroom, It hasnt seen a single key physiological cue for the tree to know when to do what with itself. Trees other than tropical trees stay outside all year for this reason.

How often were you watering it inside?